More than 50 Stellar Events on Sale Now! 

We are excited to announce our inaugural season of Arts & Ideas. Experience new spins on old traditions, daring artistry, the chance to think deeply, to laugh and to dance. The artists and intellectuals who comprise the 2018-2019 season are visionaries who represent a wide spectrum of art forms from podcasts to hip-hop to the great American songbook. Get big saving with WITH SEASON PACKAGES!

 

In Honor of Yom HaShoah, Holocaust Remembrance Day
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
With Author Heather Morris

Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 7:00pm
David & Dorothea Garfield Theatre

“I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.” We are honored to be joined by Heather Morris to discuss her international and New York Times bestselling novel based on a true story. For readers of Schindler's List and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a heart-breaking true story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. The book tells the true story of Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov, a Jewish prisoner who was given the job of tattooing identification numbers on prisoners’ arms in the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp. One day, he met Gita while she was waiting in line to be tattooed and it was love at first sight. And so began one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. A book signing will follow the event.

“Based on a true story, the wrenching yet riveting tale of Lale’s determination to survive the camp with Gita is a moving testament to the power of kindness, ingenuity, and hope.” — People Magazine

General Admission Seating
Price: $18; Member Price: $15


ISRAEL STORY LIVE!
"The Wall" - A Look At The Barriers That Separate Us, And Those That Bring Us Together

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 8pm
David & Dorothea Garfield Theatre
Lawrence Family JCC

Israel’s leading podcast blends live storytelling and surprising multimedia, introducing us to a different Israel, one that we rarely get a chance to see: life-sized, nuanced, funny and touching. These are everyday stories, told by, and about, regular Israelis.

Everywhere we turn these days it seems "the wall" is staring back at us. Its power is magical - it both protects and alienates; keeps people in and out; and can - we have all seen - even bring mighty governments to a standstill. Israel, too, has its share of walls. There's the West Bank Barrier, of course, the Wailing Wall, and basically everything in between. In their newest live show, Israel Story - the country's leading podcast - interact with different walls and have surprisingly poetic tales to tell about their encounters. With their usual mix of unusually splendid storytelling, marvelous live music and stunning visuals, join the Israel Story team for an evening that will redefine your thoughts about the good ol' "W-word."


“The Israeli ‘This American Life’” -Ira Glass


Assigned Seating
Price: $38; Member Price: $33; Premium Price: $52

ISRAEL STORY LIVE!
"The Wall" - A Look At The Barriers That Separate Us, And Those That Bring Us Together
Add to Cart


SALK TALKS

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7pm Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 7pm
David & Dorothea Garfield Theatre
Lawrence Family JCC

Three remarkable events bring together experts and influencers from The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, the world’s top leader in biomedical research, located in La Jolla. Salk scientists will showcase their remarkable insights and discoveries and their impact on humanity.

General Admission Seating
Price: $18; Member Price: $15;

Satchidananda Panda, PhD: “The ideal circadian code to a long healthy life” Add to Cart

Sreekanth Chalasani, PhD: “A new approach to alleviating symptoms of Autism Spectrum Disorders” Add to Cart


Community Divided/Humanity United With March For Our Lives founding members Sofie Whitney and Brendan Duff

Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:00 pm
David & Dorothea Garfield Theatre
Lawrence Family JCC

 

Since the tragedies at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, the March For Our Lives movement has taken a stand against senseless gun violence. The Parkland students work together with young leaders of all backgrounds from across the country to hold politicians accountable and combat the normalization of gun violence. The San Diego Center for Jewish Culture brings survivors of the Parkland shooting to San Diego to share Glimmer of Hope, the New York Times bestselling book by the founders of the movement that tells the story of how a group of teenagers raced to channel their rage and sorrow into action—and went on to create one of the largest youth-led movements in global history. These students bring their urgent conversation to San Diego, offering us a chance to come together and take action, refuse to remain passive, and work to create a safe and compassionate nation for our youth. An important conversation with Parkland shooting survivors Sofie Whitney and Brendan Duff.

 “Glimmer of Hope provides a blueprint for launching social change...”—NPR.org

 

General Admission Seating

Price: FREE to the public, but tickets required to enter. All ages welcome. Doors open at 4:30 PM. Q & A and book signing to follow event.

Books for purchase (100% of the authors' proceeds from Glimmer of Hope will benefit the March For Our Lives Foundation and the ongoing fight to end gun violence in the United States).


Community Divided/Humanity United is generously funded by the County of San Diego’s Community Enhancement Program

Community Divided/Humanity United With March For Our Lives founding members Sofie Whitney and Brendan Duff Add to Cart


5 Minute Play Festival

Monday, June 3, 2019 at 7pm
Rehearsal Room
Lawrence Family JCC

Join us for the 6th Annual 5-Minute Play Festival, a staged reading series. You'll get a taste of comedies, tragedies and everything in between as professional San Diego actors, under the stellar direction of D. Candis Paule, transform scripts into theater showcasing fresh, new playwrights that speak to Jewish identity, cultural experiences and values. This is an evening of laughter, inspiration and thought-provoking questions.

General Admission
Price: $18; Member Price: $15

5 Minute Play Festival Add to Cart


Chef Alon Shaya at Our Shabbat Table
Shaya: An Odyssey of Food, My Journey Back to Israel

Friday, June 28, 2019 at 6:30pm
David & Dorothea Garfield Theatre

Alon Shaya learned to cook while hanging onto the apron strings of his mother and grandmother. But by the time the Tel Aviv-born, Philly-raised chef moved to New Orleans and won the James Beard Award for Best New Restaurant in America, shrimp, gumbo and jambalaya had made their way into his shakshuka—and okra had found a partner in black-eyed peas. Join us for a special Shabbat dinner to hear about — and sample — that culinary journey, in celebration of Shaya's cookbook/memoir, Shaya: An Odyssey of Food, My Journey Back to Israel. As you enjoy some of Chef Shaya's most raved-about creations, you'll hear the stories of the places, people and food that have informed his journey from Tel Aviv to NOLA and back again. For full menu visit sdcjc.org.
“Alon’s journey is as gripping and as seductive as his cooking…Lovely stories, terrific food.” —Yotam Ottolenghi, author of Jerusalem: A Cookbook

General Admission Seating
Price: $69; Member Price: $66 (Includes Shabbat Dinner & one signed copy of Shaya: An Odyssey of Food, My Journey Back to Israel)
Price: $45; Member Price: $40 (Includes Shabbat Dinner)
Dinner/Book Package is only available to purchase in advance until Thursday, June 20, 2019

Chef Alon Shaya at Our Shabbat Table
Shaya: An Odyssey of Food, My Journey Back to Israel
Add to Cart