2015 Grinspoon Steinhardt Award Winner: Debby Stone

Debby’s mission and desire as a Jewish Educator is to teach students to love and embrace Judaism as lifelong learners. As a Jewish Educator, her personal aspirations are to implement the values, ethics, rituals, and tenants of our people so that students are compelled to continue the chain of Jewish living and knowledge that our ancestors have given us. In order to accurately educate and facilitate a love for learning in our students, she believes it is imperative that she, too, be a lifelong learner. She learns to teach and teaches to learn.

As a full-time teacher in the public schools, she is blessed to participate in constant ongoing in-service learning and professional development. The methods of classroom management, interactive learning techniques, inclusion of special needs children, sensitivity to bullying, fundamentals of reading instruction, and awareness of diversity, directly apply to her Jewish teaching at Temple Solel. The Jewish workshops she has taken have provided her with knowledge of God, Israel, and Torah.

Pedagogic Award Winners 2016-2017

  Holly Gail Baumann
Jessie Birnbaum
Vanina Bunton
Becky Combest
Ilana Czastkowski
Cecile Fleetwood
Ellen Fox
Annette Friend
Ruth Gach
Karen Hamm
Suzi Harris
Cathy Kamin
Rebecca Levin

  Dennis Masur
Esther Mendelovitz
Sandra Moll
Orli Moses-Vilensky
Sophie Needelman
Karen Parry
Stefanie Retin
Betsy Schneider
Belinda Singer
Debby Stone
Esther Wulff
Omer Zalmanowitz

Past Grinspoon Winners

2015: Debby Stone 
2014: Rochel Smoller
2013: Shelley Sloan
2012: Geula Hebron
2011: BeLinda Singer
2010: Linda Signer
2009: Gvira Abed
2008: Annette Friend
2007: Brenda Silvers
2006: Nomi Levy, z"l
2005: Anne Spindel
2004: Elisheva Edelson
2003: Karen Rund, Kathy Scott
2002: Shoshana Stotland, Edna Yedid
2001: Janet Rosenfield
2000 Estee Sery